This website uses cookies and the Web Analysis tool Piwik. This helps us to provide you with a good user experience and to improve our website. If you surf through our sites, you hereby agree. Here you will learn more about the use of your data and possibilities for contradiction.


The Federal Employment Agency (BA) is a self-governing public corporation. At central and local level, over 2,800 voluntary representatives from the three groups of employees, employers and public bodies play a decisive role in the promotion of employment and its further development in the field of unemployment insurance. Self-administration is an essential element of the BA.

The central body of self-administration is the Board of Directors. It monitors and advises the Executive Board in the performance of its duties and provides important impulses for the further development of the BA.

The Board of Directors proposes the Chairman or the Chairperson and the other members of the BA Executive Board to the Federal Government for appointment by the Federal President.

In addition to the information requested by the Board of Directors, the Executive Board regularly reports to the Board of Directors on all important topics and developments. Other important tasks of the Board of Directors are:

  • Determination of the strategic orientation and business policy goals
  • Resolution of the Statutes of the Federal Employment Agency
  • Preparation of the budget
  • Issuance of orders
  • Approval of the annual report of the Executive Board
  • Approval of the rules of procedure of the Executive Board.

The Board of Directors is composed of one third each of representatives from the three groups of employees, employers and public bodies. The Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs appoints seven members and five deputy members for each group

There is a management committee in every employment agency (Agentur für Arbeit). This is the supervisory and advisory body of the management of the agency. On site, the labour market programme and planning are coordinated with the agency management. In this way, labour market policy measures and initiatives to strengthen the region can be agreed and valuable contributions can be made to shaping local labour markets.

The Management Committee is also composed of one third each of representatives from the three groups of employees, employers and public bodies. The BA Board of Directors appoints four members and two alternate members for each group.

Peter Clever

01.07.2018 to 30.06.2019:

Peter Clever

Annelie Buntenbach

01.07.2018 to 30.06.2019:

Annelie Buntenbach


Buntenbach, Annelie (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund)

Gröschl-Bahr, Gabriele (Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft ver.di)

Jakob, Johannes (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund)

Reinbold-Knape, Petra (Industriegewerkschaft Bergbau, Chemie, Energie)

Schäfers, Dietmar (Industriegewerkschaft Bauen-Agrar-Umwelt)

Siebert, Burkhard (Gewerkschaft Nahrung-Genuss-Gaststätten)

Dr. Urban, Hans-Jürgen (Industriegewerkschaft Metall)


Deputy Members:

Dr. Janczyk, Stefanie (Industriegewerkschaft Metall - Bundesvorstand)

Jena, Matthias (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund)

Klinger, Ansgar (Gewerkschaft Erziehung und Wissenschaft)

König, Dagmar (Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft ver.di)

Polkaehn, Uwe (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund)


Brossardt, Bertram (Vereinigung der Bayerischen Wirtschaft e.V.)

Clever, Peter (Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände)

Günther, Nina (Siemens AG)

Hofmann, Ingrid (Geschäftsführende Alleingesellschafterin der I. K. Hofmann GmbH)

Schulte, Karl-Sebastian (Zentralverband des Deutschen Handwerks)

Zander, Oliver (Arbeitgeberverbände der Metall- und Elektro-Industrie Gesamtmetall e.V.)


Deputy Members:

Haas, Peter (Südwesttextil e. V.)

Handke, Gerhard (Bundesverband Großhandel, Außenhandel, Dienstleistungen e. V.)

Hüsgen, Herbert (Bundesverband Garten-, Landschafts- und Sportplatzbau e. V.)

Dr. Mackebrandt, Lutz (Unternehmensberater)

Dr. Robra, Anna (Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände)


Bundszus-Cecere, Bettina (Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend)

Dr. Gerhardt, Thomas (Bundesministerium der Finanzen)

Dr. Neifer-Porsch, Elisabeth (Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales)

Dr. Dippel, Wolfgang (Hessisches Ministerium für Soziales und Integration)

Hartwig-Tiedt, Almuth (Ministerium für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheit, Frauen und Familie, Brandenburg)

Schütz, Katrin (Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Wohnungsbau, Baden-Württemberg)

Hahn, Stefan (Deutscher Städtetag)


Deputy Members:

Dr. Steinberg, Philipp (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie)

Voß-Gundlach, Christiane (Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales)

Dr. Rohlfs, Thilo (Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Verkehr, Arbeit, Technologie und Tourismus des Landes Schleswig-Holstein)

Pörksen, Jan (Behörde für Arbeit, Soziales, Familie und Integration der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg)

Dr. Vorholz, Irene (Deutscher Landkreistag)