Login and account: answers to frequently asked questions
Accessing your account, activating, deleting or unblocking it – we will help you with any questions you may have about using your account.
Login
You can find information on the login options on this page: Secure and convenient login to the portal
Find out in just a few steps which login option is best for you – with our selection wizard. You can access it on the "Login" page under "Finding the right account".
Login with a second factor is mandatory. The following options are available: “BundID” (“Federal ID”), Passkey and user name / e-mail address in combination with a password and a second factor (TOTP). For more information, please visit this page: Secure and convenient login to the portal.
If you wish to log in using your Federal Employment Agency account:
You can use the Forgot login details page to reset your login details yourself in just a few minutes. This may be necessary, for example, if you have forgotten your password or no longer have access to your second factor for authentication.
Simply enter the email address you used to register with us on the page. We will send you an e-mail shortly afterwards with instructions on how to reset your login details.
If you cannot remember which e-mail address you used to register, search your e-mail inboxes for messages from kontoservice@arbeitsagentur.de. Be sure to check your spam folder as well. These e-mails will contain your user name or the e-mail address you provided during registration. Please also bear in mind any changes you may have made to your e-mail address. The e-mail address you most recently confirmed is always the one on record.
Alternatively, use the Forgot user name page to find out your user name and, consequently, your e-mail address. You will need to enter your 10-digit customer number there. You can find this on the personal letter we sent you.
If you have not received the e-mail mentioned above after 12 hours, please contact our technical support.
If you wish to log in using BundID:
Please use the “Request username” function on the BundID website or contact the BundID support team (available in German only).
There may be several reasons for this:
- Account deleted: You registered but you did not confirm your e-mail address within 24 hours. You deleted your account yourself or it was automatically deleted after 2 years of inactivity. Please register again.
- Account blocked: For more information, see the section on account blocking.
- "BundID" login details: Please do not enter your "BundID" login details when logging in to the Federal Employment Agency. On the login page under "BundID", select the option "Log in/Register" and then enter your user name and password in the "BundID" portal. You will then be redirected to our portal.
If you can rule out the above cases, please contact our technical support.
If you use "BundID", please contact the BundID service team. Our support team cannot change or reset your "BundID" data.
Account blocked
Your account will be blocked if you enter incorrect login details too often.
You will be informed of the blocking by e-mail. For this, we use the e-mail address we have on file.
To unblock your account:
- Use the link in the e-mail you received when your account was blocked.
- Use the "Forgot login details" function on the login page.
- Log in via your “BundID” account – if you have one. Your account with us will then be automatically unblocked.
- Contact our technical support. You will then receive new login details by post (user name and password). You can use these once to log in.
A block has no effect on the content of your account. Official notifications, for example, will continue to be listed in your account and you will receive messages in your mailbox. However, you are responsible for regularly checking the information in your account. This is the only way you can act in good time and avoid legal disadvantages due to missed deadlines, for example.
Deleting an account
You can delete your account yourself at any time via the account settings. If you have activated account deletion, you will receive an e-mail with a link that you can use to confirm the deletion. This ensures that your account is not deleted accidentally or by unauthorised persons. If you do not use the link, your account will not be deleted.
Your account will be automatically deleted if you do not log in for 2 years. You will receive an e-mail 3 months before the automatic deletion informing you of the impending deletion. If you want to keep your account, simply log in – that's all you need to do.
If you delete your account, all data linked to it will be irrevocably deleted. This also means that all your profiles (Employment Agency, Job Centre, company, Family Benefits Office) will be deleted.
As a result, you can ...
- no longer use our online services,
- no longer view official notifications and supporting documents online,
- no longer access data pertaining to online applications,
- no longer view test results,
- no longer use the pre-bookings, for example for applications or job vacancies,
- no longer retrieve messages we sent you.
You can also delete just individual profiles instead of your entire account. For example, if you no longer need the profile for the Employment Agency because you are no longer unemployed, you can delete it separately. Your profile for the Family Benefits Office remains intact so that you can continue to use it to send information to the Family Benefits Office, for example.
Please note: Only the information stored in the account will be irrevocably deleted. Your customer data will be retained and will continue to be processed. This is done on the basis of statutory data protection regulations.
No. If your account with us has been deleted, you will automatically receive content that you received digitally up to that point by post again – for example, documents (official notifications, supporting documents, letters).
If you cannot find the e-mail in your inbox, please check the spam folder of your e-mail mailbox. If you cannot find the deletion confirmation there, you can try to delete the account again. You can log in to your account at any time until the deletion has been confirmed.
Activating an account
The activation code is valid for 15 calendar days, 25 calendar days for foreign addresses.
You can request a new code at any time or have a valid code blocked (in the event of loss or theft).
If the activation code is still valid, please contact our technical support.