The Federal Employment Agency (BA) is a self-governing public corporation. At central and local level, over 2,800 voluntary representatives from the three groups of employees, employers and public bodies play a decisive role in the promotion of employment and its further development in the field of unemployment insurance. Self-administration is an essential element of the BA.

The central body of self-administration is the Board of Directors. It monitors and advises the Executive Board in the performance of its duties and provides important impulses for the further development of the BA.

The Board of Directors proposes the Chairman or the Chairperson and the other members of the BA Executive Board to the Federal Government for appointment by the Federal President.

In addition to the information requested by the Board of Directors, the Executive Board regularly reports to the Board of Directors on all important topics and developments. Other important tasks of the Board of Directors are:

  • Determination of the strategic orientation and business policy goals
  • Resolution of the Statutes of the Federal Employment Agency
  • Preparation of the budget
  • Issuance of orders
  • Approval of the annual report of the Executive Board
  • Approval of the rules of procedure of the Executive Board.

The Board of Directors is composed of one third each of representatives from the three groups of employees, employers and public bodies. The Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs appoints seven members and five deputy members for each group

There is a management committee in every employment agency (Agentur für Arbeit). This is the supervisory and advisory body of the management of the agency. On site, the labour market programme and planning are coordinated with the agency management. In this way, labour market policy measures and initiatives to strengthen the region can be agreed and valuable contributions can be made to shaping local labour markets.

The Management Committee is also composed of one third each of representatives from the three groups of employees, employers and public bodies. The BA Board of Directors appoints four members and two alternate members for each group.

Christina Ramb, Stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Verwaltungsrats der BA

Christina Ramb
Chairman of the Board of Directors of the BA

Anja Piel, Vorsitzende des Verwaltungsrats der BA

Anja Piel
Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the BA


Biermann, Birgit (Industriegewerkschaft Bergbau, Chemie, Energie)

Burckhardt, Carsten (Industriegewerkschaft Bauen-Agrar-Umwelt)

Gröschl-Bahr, Gabriele (Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft ver.di)

Piel, Anja (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund)

Räder, Evelyn (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund)

Tiedge, Claudia (Gewerkschaft Nahrung-Genuss-Gaststätten)

Dr. Urban, Hans-Jürgen (Industriegewerkschaft Metall)

Deputy Members:

Becker, Ralf (Gewerkschaft Erziehung und Wissenschaft)

Dr. Janczyk, Stefanie (Industriegewerkschaft Metall - Bundesvorstand)

Pooth, Laura (Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund, Bezirk Nord)

Reinholz, Andre (Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft ver.di)

Rudolph, Michael (DGB-Bezirk Hessen-Thüringen)


Brossardt, Bertram (Vereinigung der Bayerischen Wirtschaft e.V.)

Günther, Nina (Siemens AG)

Hofmann, Ingrid (Geschäftsführende Alleingesellschafterin der I. K. Hofmann GmbH)

Ramb, Christina (Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände)

Dr. Robra, Anna (Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände)

Schulte, Karl-Sebastian (Zentralverband des Deutschen Handwerks)

Zander, Oliver (Arbeitgeberverbände der Metall- und Elektro-Industrie Gesamtmetall e.V.)

Deputy Members:

Behringer, Boris (Großhandel-bw Verband für Dienstleistungen, Groß- und Außenhandel Baden-Württemberg e. V.)

Hüsgen, Herbert (Bundesverband Garten-, Landschafts- und Sportplatzbau e. V.)

Müller, Susanne (Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände)

Nobereit, Sven (Verband der Wirtschaft Thüringens e. V.)

Dr. Stiller, Klaus-Peter (Bundesarbeitgeberverband Chemie e.V.)


Dr. Bartsch, Elga (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz)

Dr. Börsch-Supan, Johanna (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung)

Dr. Kaiser, Yvonne (Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales) 

Altesleben, Bettina (Ministerium für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheut und Frauen – Saarland)

Dr. Gruber, Markus (Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Familie, Arbeit und Soziales)

Klapp, Micha (Senatsverwaltung für Arbeit, Soziales, Gleichstellung, Integration, Vielfalt und Antidiskriminierung)

Dr. Vorholz, Irene (Deutscher Landkreistag)

Deputy Members:

Solka, Simone (Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales)

Member (following)

Member (following)

Dr. Goworek, Falk (Bundesministerium der Finanzen)

Hahn, Stefan (Deutscher Städtetag)